Shows & Events

July 2018
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
Visitor CountVisitor Count50069

Home page

Let us introduce you to one of the most productive cattle breeds in the world.....

WHY DO WE SAY SO.....

  • Being able to keep 3 Dexters instead of any 2 large framed animals grazing on the same hectare of land
  • The breed is a non-selective feeder, highly adaptable, very hardy and easy on the veld.
  • Dexters have good feed conversion rates and excellent Average Daily Gains (ADG's).
  • The Dexter is a dual purpose breed with exceptional meat and milk qualities.
  • Dexter meat is know for exceptional marbling, tenderness and flavor.
  • Dexters have a significant larger Eye Muscle Area (EMA) than other breeds, indicating more saleable meat.
  • Dexters have a good temperament, making them easy to handle.
  • Dexter cows have exceptional maternal instincts, taking great care of their young.
  • Cows calve at a young age and have low inter-calving periods(ICP's). 
  • Calves are weaned at 205 days at plus 55% of the mother's weight. 
  • There are two recognized types, short legged and non-short. Dexters are black, red or dun.

2dexter homeOckie

footer

Latest JEvents

Sat Jul 21 @08:00 - 05:00PM - VRYSTAAT DEXTER KLUB INLIGTINGSDAG
Sat Aug 11 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Dexter Genootskap AJV - Stamboek Kantore, Bloemfontein
Tue Aug 14 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Warmbad Skou
Sat Aug 25 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Nedbank Eston Agricultural Show
Sat Sep 01 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Overvaal Dexter Klub Skou - Willem Prinsloo Museum, Bronkhorstspruit
Mon Sep 17 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Alpha Skou
Tue Sep 18 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Alpha Skou
Wed Sep 19 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Alpha Skou
Thu Sep 20 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Alpha Skou
Fri Sep 21 @08:00 - 05:00PM - Alpha Skou